T3:4/8 Norwich to Loddon

This is the fourth disk in the series of 8 representing the 8 ages of man. This one is obviously the lover, with the hearts and the intertwined male and female symbols:

Flickr gregory willliams norwich loddon

(Image: © Copyright Gregory Williams (Flickr) and licensed for reuse under Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 2.0 Generic (CC BY-NC-ND 2.0))

But I had always thought that there were seven ages of Man, from the Shakespeare speech:

“All the world’s a stage” is the phrase that begins a monologue from William Shakespeare’s As You Like It, spoken by the melancholy Jaques in Act II Scene VII. The speech compares the world to a stage and life to a play, and catalogues the seven stages of a man’s life, sometimes referred to as the seven ages of man.

    All the world's a stage,
    And all the men and women merely players, They have their exits and entrances,
    And one man in his time plays many parts,
    His acts being seven ages. 

Which are, in brief:

1 Puking infant.

2 Whining school boy.

3 Young, sighing lover.

4 Soldier.

5 The “justice” or upstanding leader.

6 Silly old man who thinks he’s still young (“pantaloon”)

7 Super-old man, toothless, blind, and as helpless as a baby.

So here’s a problem. If this is the “Sighing lover”, and it clearly is, that’s the 3rd of Shakespeare’s ages, but the disk is clearly Number 4 in this 8 Age sequence.


Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s